Erie Moves to Yellow Phase of COVID-19 Reopening on May 8

Erie County will move to the yellow phase of COVID-19 reopening on May 8, according to Senator Dan Laughlin.

The yellow phase of reopening will allow businesses with in-person operations to open under strict health guidelines and building safety orders to reduce the risk of infection. Telework must still continue where feasible.

Schools closures and restrictions on congregate care, prison visits and large gatherings of more than 25 people will remain in place. Indoor recreation, health and wellness facilities and entertainment venues will remain closed, and restaurants and bars will still be limited to carry-out and delivery only.

Senator Laughlin expressed relief that the plan would allow more local employees and employers to begin operating safely with the proper safeguards in place to prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

“This is good news for Erie County, we can start rebuilding our lives and our local economy,” he said. “The statewide shutdown order closed many local business and idled too many workers. That created a severe financial strain on many families. This reopening is a good step in the right direction.”

Other counties moving to the yellow phase include: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango, and Warren.

All other counties in Pennsylvania will remain under Governor Wolf’s stay-at-home order. Only businesses deemed life-sustaining by the Wolf Administration are permitted to operate in those areas of the state.

Contact:           Matt Azeles       

Back to Top