Grants Support Expanded Computer Science Education

Four local school districts and Northwest Tri-County IU 5 received grants totaling $175,000 from the Pennsylvania Department of Education today to expand computer science programs for students, according to Senator Dan Laughlin.

Local grant recipients include:

  • Fort LeBoeuf School District.
  • Harbor Creek School District.
  • Iroquois School District.
  • Millcreek Township School District.
  • Northwest Tri-County IU 5

The $35,000 grant to each school will support the introduction and expansion of computer science programming and provide training for educators to teach computer science to students from pre-kindergarten through high school.

The grants were awarded through the PAsmart Targeted grant program. Funding for the program was included in this year’s state budget as part of a broader commitment to encourage job growth and train students for quality jobs in Pennsylvania.

“Our schools have the important, and challenging task of properly preparing our young people to become responsible and productive members of society. Long gone are the old slide rules that once were the basic tool for simple and complex computations in math classes,” said Senator Laughlin. “These grants will help our young people master the necessary computer skills that are essential in almost every aspect of our world today.”

A total of 163 schools statewide received grants in the current round of funding.


Contact:           Matt Azeles          (717) 787-8927 

Back to Top